Cybersecurity Statistics: Sourced UK Business Figures for 2026
These cybersecurity statistics come only from sources we opened, each with its year and link. Below the tables, we explain what the numbers mean for a UK business in practice.
Key Takeaways
- The DSIT survey found 43% of UK businesses identified a breach or attack in the previous 12 months (2025/2026 edition).
- Prevalence rises with size: 42% of micro businesses against 69% of large businesses.
- Reported costs are skewed: the median perceived cost was £0, but a minority face serious losses.
- Verizon's 2026 report finds exploited vulnerabilities the most common initial access route at 31% of breaches.
- Only 19% of businesses trained staff on cyber security in the DSIT survey, a clear gap.
The most useful cybersecurity statistics for UK businesses come from a handful of sources: the government's Cyber Security Breaches Survey, the NCSC and large industry studies from IBM and Verizon. Each measures something different, so the figures should be read as indicators, not forecasts.
Every figure below was taken from a page we opened, and carries its source and year. Anything we could not verify has been left out. Where a number is a respondent's perception rather than a measurement, we say so.
Sources used: the DSIT Cyber Security Breaches Survey 2025/2026 (published 30 April 2026), the NCSC Annual Review 2025 (reported 14 October 2025), the IBM Cost of a Data Breach Report 2025, UK edition (published 30 July 2025) and the Verizon DBIR 2026 (dataset October 2024 to November 2025).
Prevalence: how often UK organisations are hit
| Statistic | Figure | Source and year |
|---|---|---|
| Businesses identifying a breach or attack in the last 12 months | 43% (about 612,000) | DSIT survey 2025/2026 |
| Charities identifying a breach or attack | 28% (about 57,000) | DSIT survey 2025/2026 |
| Businesses reporting phishing | 38% (charities 25%) | DSIT survey 2025/2026 |
| Businesses experiencing cyber crime | 19% (about 267,000) | DSIT survey 2025/2026 |
| Nationally significant incidents handled by the NCSC | 204 in the year to August 2025, up from 89 | NCSC Annual Review 2025 |
| Total incidents handled by the NCSC | 429, including 18 highly significant | NCSC Annual Review 2025 |
The DSIT survey reports business prevalence of 50% in 2023/2024 and 43% in 2024/2025, so the share identifying a breach has fallen from that peak. The survey itself cautions that it only counts breaches organisations could identify and were willing to report, so the true level is likely higher.
The NCSC figures describe serious, nationally significant incidents, not everyday phishing, which is why they are a smaller number than the survey.
Read the prevalence figures alongside the size breakdown in the small business section: the headline 43% hides a range from 42% for micro businesses to 69% for large ones. A larger estate, more staff and more suppliers simply give attackers more to try.
↑ Back to ContentsCost: what breaches are reported to cost
| Statistic | Figure | Source and year |
|---|---|---|
| Median perceived cost of the most disruptive breach (businesses) | £0 | DSIT survey 2025/2026 |
| 95th percentile perceived cost (all businesses) | £4,000 (medium and large: £10,000) | DSIT survey 2025/2026 |
| Global average cost of a breach | $4.44 million, first decline in five years | IBM 2025 |
| UK organisations using AI and automation extensively | £3.11 million average, against £3.78 million without | IBM 2025, UK edition |
| UK financial services average cost | £5.74 million | IBM 2025, UK edition |
| Extortion or ransomware incidents disclosed by an attacker | £4.72 million average | IBM 2025, UK edition |
Treat the two sources with care. The DSIT figures are perceived costs from survey respondents, covering many small incidents. The IBM figures come from a study of 600 organisations that suffered breaches, covering March 2024 to February 2025, so they skew towards larger, costlier events.
A practical reading: budget for the realistic middle, such as response support and recovery time, and test your insurance and backups against the expensive tail. The sums involved in a serious event can exceed what a small firm holds in reserve.
↑ Back to ContentsCauses: how attackers get in
| Statistic | Figure | Source and year |
|---|---|---|
| Initial access through exploited vulnerabilities | 31% of breaches | Verizon DBIR 2026 |
| Phishing | 16% of breaches (pretexting 6%) | Verizon DBIR 2026 |
| Credential abuse | 13% of breaches | Verizon DBIR 2026 |
| Third-party involvement in breaches | 48% | Verizon DBIR 2026 |
| Ransomware present in breaches | 48%; 69% of victims did not pay | Verizon DBIR 2026 |
| Critical vulnerabilities fully remediated in 2025 | 26%, median 43 days to remediate | Verizon DBIR 2026 |
| Top UK causes: supply chain / phishing / credentials | 18% / 16% / 11% | IBM 2025, UK edition |
Both studies point to the same set of basics: patching, identity protection and supplier control. For the most common social engineering route, see what phishing is and how to prevent it.
Notice that exploited vulnerabilities lead in the Verizon data while IBM's UK sample puts supplier compromise first. Both reward the same habits: know what you run, patch what is exposed, and understand what your suppliers can reach.
↑ Back to ContentsSmall business: size changes the picture
| Statistic | Micro | Small | Medium | Large |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Identified a breach or attack | 42% | 46% | 65% | 69% |
| Reviewed immediate supplier risk | 12% | 22% | 30% | 48% |
| Have a formal incident response plan | 21% | not stated | not stated | 76% |
Source: DSIT survey 2025/2026. Further DSIT figures show 55% of small businesses and 61% of medium businesses held insurance covering cyber risk, and 12% of small businesses held Cyber Essentials certification.
Verizon's 2026 report counted 7,152 breaches with confirmed data disclosure at small and medium-sized businesses, with third-party involvement in 55%. It notes these firms are disproportionately affected by ransomware and often have fewer resources to respond.
Our page on cybersecurity for small business sets out the practical controls for this group.
↑ Back to ContentsWorkforce and governance
| Statistic | Figure | Source and year |
|---|---|---|
| Businesses that trained staff on cyber security | 19% (charities 17%; large businesses 84%) | DSIT survey 2025/2026 |
| Businesses where a board member is responsible for cyber | 31% (large businesses 68%) | DSIT survey 2025/2026 |
| Businesses with a formal incident response plan | 25% (charities 19%) | DSIT survey 2025/2026 |
| Businesses holding Cyber Essentials | 5%, up from 3% | DSIT survey 2025/2026 |
| Breaches involving the human element | 62% | Verizon DBIR 2026 |
| UK respondents lacking AI access controls / with AI governance policies | 63% / 31% | IBM 2025, UK edition |
Our guide on training employees on cybersecurity awareness covers the people controls in more detail.
↑ Back to ContentsWhat these cybersecurity statistics mean in practice
Numbers on their own do not tell you what to do. Four practical readings follow from the tables.
- Exposure is normal, not exceptional. Four in ten businesses identify an incident each year, so planning for one is ordinary risk management.
- Most incidents are minor, a few are severe. A median cost of £0 sits alongside multi-million-pound averages in large studies. Plan for the tail, not the median.
- Basic hygiene addresses the commonest routes. Patching, multi-factor authentication and supplier checks target the leading causes. Cyber Essentials covers several of them.
- Governance lags behind awareness. Most businesses say cyber is a priority but few train staff or hold an incident plan, which is where managed IT support and an independent cyber security audit help.
How to use these figures in your business
Use the statistics to frame a conversation with your board or insurer, not to scare anyone. Pick the three that map to your gaps, such as patching, training and incident planning, and attach an owner and a date to each.
Always quote the source and year, and do not mix survey percentages with industry-study averages in a single sentence. The first describe how many organisations are affected. The second describe how much breaches cost when they are serious.
↑ Back to ContentsResponse and governance behaviours
| Statistic | Figure | Source and year |
|---|---|---|
| Businesses that informed directors or trustees of their most disruptive breach | 81% (charities 84%) | DSIT survey 2025/2026 |
| Businesses that reported the most disruptive breach outside the organisation | 40% (charities 36%) | DSIT survey 2025/2026 |
| Businesses seeing cyber security as a high priority | 72% (charities 60%) | DSIT survey 2025/2026 |
| Businesses with controls in all five Cyber Essentials areas | 24% (charities 13%) | DSIT survey 2025/2026 |
| Businesses holding any insurance covering cyber risk / a specific cyber policy | 47% / 10% | DSIT survey 2025/2026 |
| Organisations choosing not to pay a ransom | 63%, up from 59% | IBM 2025, UK edition |
The gap between priority (72%) and action (19% training, 25% incident plans) is the most consistent theme in the DSIT data. Both are areas where a Cyber Essentials assessment gives a structured starting point.
↑ Back to ContentsLimitations of these sources
Good use of statistics means knowing what each study can and cannot say.
- DSIT survey: self-reported, counts only incidents organisations identified and were willing to report, and costs are perceived rather than measured. Results for large businesses and some subgroups are less statistically reliable.
- NCSC Annual Review: counts incidents the NCSC handled, so it measures serious cases brought to its attention, not total activity.
- IBM: based on 600 organisations that experienced breaches, so averages skew higher than a typical UK business would see.
- Verizon: built from incident data contributed to Verizon, so it reflects the cases its contributors see.
None of these should be read as a prediction for your organisation. Use them to prioritise, then check your own position through an audit or assessment.
Revisit the figures each year. The DSIT survey and the NCSC review are annual, and the Verizon and IBM reports are published each year too, so a one-page summary of your own position against the latest numbers is easy to keep current.
↑ Back to ContentsConclusion
These cybersecurity statistics show a consistent picture: incidents are common, most are modest, a few are costly, and the leading causes are preventable with disciplined basics. Use the figures as a starting point and review your own position against them. If you would like help turning them into a plan, get in touch with NetMonkeys.
↑ Back to ContentsFrequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
How many UK businesses experience a cyber breach each year?
The DSIT Cyber Security Breaches Survey 2025/2026 found 43% of UK businesses, about 612,000, identified a breach or attack in the previous 12 months, and 28% of charities. The survey notes it only counts incidents organisations identified and were willing to report, so true prevalence is likely higher than the headline figure.
How much does a data breach cost?
It depends on the source. In the DSIT survey the median perceived cost of the most disruptive breach was £0, with the 95th percentile at £4,000 for businesses. IBM's 2025 study put the global average at $4.44 million, using organisations that had suffered breaches, so the two sets of figures are not directly comparable.
What is the most common cause of breaches?
Verizon's 2026 report found exploitation of vulnerabilities was the most common initial access vector at 31% of breaches, ahead of phishing at 16% and credential abuse at 13%. IBM's 2025 UK edition named supplier compromise at 18% and phishing at 16% as leading causes, so both patching and supplier control matter.
Are small businesses really at risk?
Yes. The DSIT survey found 42% of micro and 46% of small businesses identified a breach or attack, against 65% of medium and 69% of large businesses. Verizon's 2026 report counted 7,152 confirmed data disclosure breaches at small and medium-sized businesses and notes they are disproportionately affected by ransomware.
How many UK businesses train staff on cyber security?
The DSIT survey 2025/2026 found 19% of businesses and 17% of charities had trained staff, unchanged for businesses from the previous year. Large businesses reported 84%. Verizon separately found the human element involved in 62% of breaches, so training remains a clear and measurable gap for most organisations.
Why do different cybersecurity statistics disagree?
They measure different things. DSIT surveys a sample of UK organisations and reports perceived costs, IBM studies organisations that had a breach, and Verizon analyses incident data it receives. Compare direction and themes rather than single percentages across sources, and always note the year of each figure.
Speak to a NetMonkeys specialist
Practical, plain-English IT advice for UK businesses, from our Manchester headquarters and our teams in London and Nottingham.
Book a conversation